Florida's Homestead Exemption is the
most widely used and allows up to $25,000 to be deducted from the assessed value of a primary residence. To qualify, the owner must establish Liberty County as his or her legal domicile and this may be validated by producing a valid Florida driver's license, vehicle registration, voter's registration, or other means. Once established, this exemption is automatically renewed each year. Property owners are required by law to inform the Property Appraiser of any change in residency or marital status so that the exemption may be reviewed.
Military personnel transferred out of Florida can retain their exemption by bringing a copy of their orders to the Property Appraiser's office.
Exemptions of $500 are extended to widows, widowers and the disabled. Anyone who is totally disabled may be entirely exempted from property taxes as long as their income does not exceed the limits set by Florida law. Those with 100 percent military service-related disability and non-profit and religious organizations may qualify for total property tax exemption.
In order for any exemption to be effective for a particular year, it must be filed by March 1 of that year. You may file exemptions for the following year from March 2 through December 31.
Florida Statute 196.011(11) mandates that Social Security numbers of the applicant and the applicant's spouse, if any, be provided on new exemption applications for them to be deemed complete. For exemptions already granted, Social Security numbers must be furnished by January 1, 2000 for the exemptions to remain in effect for year 2000 and beyond. This information is safeguarded as CONFIDENTIAL.
|© 2004 Liberty County Property Appraiser's Office & qpublic.net