Florida's Homestead Exemption is the
most widely used
and allows up to $25,000 to be deducted from the assessed
value of a primary residence. To qualify, the owner must
establish Gilchrist County as his or her legal domicile
and this may be validated by producing a valid Florida
driver's license, vehicle registration, voter's registration,
or other means. Once established, this exemption is
automatically renewed each year. Property owners are
required by law to inform the Property Appraiser of any
change in residency or marital status so that the exemption
may be reviewed.
Military personnel transferred out of Florida can retain
their exemption by bringing a copy of their orders to the
Property Appraiser's office.
Exemptions of $500 are extended to widows, widowers and
the disabled. Anyone who is totally disabled may be
entirely exempted from property taxes as long as their
income does not exceed the limits set by Florida law.
Those with 100 percent military service-related disability
and non-profit and religious organizations may qualify for
total property tax exemption.
In order for any exemption to be effective for a particular
year, it must be filed by March 1 of that year. You may file
exemptions for the following year from March 2 through
Florida Statute 196.011(11) mandates that Social Security
numbers of the applicant and the applicant's spouse, if any,
be provided on new exemption applications for them to be
deemed complete. For exemptions already granted, Social
Security numbers must be furnished by January 1, 2000 for
the exemptions to remain in effect for year 2000 and
beyond. This information is safeguarded as